This Is Your Life

I’ve been batting around ideas about how to start this blog and found inspiration today in a song.  It’s “This is your Life” by Switchfoot. The chorus to the song is “This is your life, are you who you want to be……..?” Needless to say, it got me thinking.

Now don’t get me wrong….I have a great life with wonderful kids, an amazing wife….steady job, etc.

But, there are a few things that I don’t like.

First, the extra pounds around the middle that just will not go away and how it’s always tomorrow that I’ll begin exercising. Next, my cholesterol is……high.  My doctor wanted to put me on cholesterol medication but I wanted to try something else first. I don’t want to be yet another heart attack victim. Lastly, my finances.  My family has been renting a house for years and would love to buy. But, since it seems that there is always to much month at the end of the money a down payment seems like a dream.

The song says “This is your life, are you who you want to be……..?”

Not yet but I’m working on it.

2 thoughts on “This Is Your Life

  1. Great post and great idea for the blog. I hope your journey is fruitful and you become who you want to be. I am on a similar journey. The quote that sums up my journey: “I don’t know where I’m going, but I’m on my way”. – Carl Sagan. Good luck and thanks for the ‘like’ – Rene

  2. Sam Vermaak says:

    Good luck with your journey! My husband and I have been living frugally to pay off debts/save for a house for a few years – it’s tough and you’ll have disastrous days, but don’t beat yourself up and get right back on track again because you’re still better off than you would have been on your previous course. As for the exercise – you just need to find a sport you actually enjoy and then you’ll want to get out there! So get trying new sports till you find the one you like (I find team sports are good for guilt-motivation to attend!!). Keep up the blogging as it helps you see how far you’ve come. Go for it, and good luck 🙂
    Sam

Leave a Reply

